Norah Jones Talks Working With Rappers & New Album ‘…Featuring’

Norah Jones has a new album on the way, aptly titled …Featuring, a chock full compilation of 18 guest collaborators including Talib Kweli, Andre 3000, Q-Tip, Ray Charles, Herbie Hancock and The Foo Fighters..

“I never really thought that I would be singing with rappers necessarily…” she says of her work with Talib Kweli on “Soon The New Day”, originally featured on the BK emcee’s excellent Eardrum LP released in 2007 and now appearing on her own release.

“I feel like it’s more of a natural thing than it seems because I know that all these guys love jazz. We share a common love of a certain music, that even though we do very different things with it – I don’t even play jazz, really, but it’s definitely in my psyche as a huge influence – that’s kind of our common stepping stone.”

The singer reflects on working with rappers and her varied collaborations over the years in the video below, as the likes of Andre 3000, Ray Charles and Herbie Hancock chime in with their tales of working with Norah:

…Featuring – Official Tracklisting:

1. Love Me (The Little Willies featuring Norah Jones)
2. Virginia Moon (The Foo Fighters featuring Norah Jones)
3. Turn Them (Sean Bones featuring Norah Jones)
4. Baby It’s Cold Outside (Willie Nelson featuring Norah Jones)
5. Bull Rider (Norah Jones and Sasha Dobson)
6. Ruler Of My Heart (Dirty Dozen Brass Band featuring Norah Jones)
7. The Best Part (El Madmo featuring Norah Jones)
8. Take Of Your Cool (Outkast featuring Norah Jones)
9. Life Is Better (Q-Tip featuring Norah Jones)
10. Soon The New Day (Talib Kweli featuring Norah Jones)
11. Little Lou, Prophet Jack, Ugly John (Belle & Sebastian featuring Norah Jones)
12. Here We Go Again (Ray Charles featuring Norah Jones)
13. Loretta (Norah Jones featuring Gillian Welch and David Rawlings)
14. Dear John (Ryan Adams featuring Norah Jones)
15. Creepin’ In (Norah Jones featuring Dolly Parton)
16. Court & Spark (Herbie Hancock featuring Norah Jones)
17. More Than This (Charlie Hunter featuring Norah Jones)
18. Blue Bayou (Norah Jones featuring M. Ward)

…Featuring is due for release on November 15th in the UK (16th in the US) via Blue Note; pre-order from Amazon.