MOBO Nominations 2008

The 13th annual MOBO Awards will take place at Wembley Arena in London on Wednesday 15th October. Spice Girl Mel B will co-host the awards alongside Rev Run, founding member of iconic hip hop outfit Run DMC.

And the nominees are…

Best UK Female Best UK Male

Adele Dizzee Rascal

Duffy Jay Sean

Estelle Sway

Leona Lewis Taio Cruz

M.I.A. Wiley

Best UK Newcomer Best International Act

Bryn Christopher Akon

Chipmunk Alicia Keys

DJ Ironik Chris Brown

Skepta Jay Z

T2 Kanye West

Mariah Carey

Mary J Blige




Best Reggae Best Jazz

Beenie Man Courtney Pine

Busy Signal GuyBarker

Etana Lizz Wright

Mavado Tony Kofi

Tarrus Riley Yolanda Brown

Best Gospel Best African Act

Ekklesia 9ice

GreenJade Asa

Jahaziel D’Banj Mo Hits Allstars

Kirk Franklin Faze

Tye Tribbett Hip Hop Pantsula


Jua Cali

Magic System



Best Song Best R&B / Soul

‘American Boy’ – Estelle Chris Brown

‘Dance Wiv Me’ – Dizzee Rascal Estelle

‘Lollipop’ – Lil ‘ Wayne Jay Sean

‘Low’ – Flo Rida Ne-Yo

‘Wearing My Rolex’ – Wiley Usher

Best Hip Hop

Dizzee Rascal


Lil’ Wayne

Lupe Fiasco


Best Video in association with MTV Base

‘Kidulthood to Adulthood’ – Bashy

“American Boy’ – Estelle

‘Bleeding Love’ – Leona Lewis

Stryderman’ – Tinchy Stryder

‘Heartbreaker –

Best Album

‘As I Am’ – Alicia Keys

‘Shine’ – Estelle

‘Spirit’ – Leona Lewis

‘The Carter III’ – Lil’ Wayne

‘Here I Stand’ – Usher

Best Radio DJ in association with Sony Ericsson

DJ 279

Ace and Invisible



Robbo Ranx


Shortee Blitz

Steve Sutherland

Tim Westwood

Trevor Nelson

The UK public can vote for their favourite nominees on the MOBO website to decide the ultimate winners: