Mercury Prize 2010 Nominations Announced: Corinne Bailey Rae, Dizzee Rascal & The XX Among Chosen

The annual Barclaycard Mercury Prize Albums of the Year have been announced for 2010….

Speaking earlier today from The Hospital Club in Covent Garden, London, BBC presenter/DJ Lauren Laverne revealed this year’s album nominations for the £20,000 prize, which is open to UK and Irish acts who have released albums over the past year.

The announcement ceremony included several performances, including a live rendition of “The Sea” by Corinne Bailey Rae [my personal favourite of the nominees].

And the nominees are….

  • Biffy Clyro – Only Revolutions
  • Villagers – Becoming A Jackal
  • Corinne Bailey Rae – The Sea [click for our review]
  • Mumford & Sons – Sigh No More
  • Paul Weller – Wake Up The Nation
  • Wild Beasts – Two Dancers
  • Kit Downes Trio – Golden
  • Laura Marling – I Speak Because I Can
  • Dizzee Rascal – Tongue N’ Cheek
  • Foals – Total Life Forever
  • I Am Kloot – Sky At Night
  • The XX – xx [click for our review]

According to NME – via bookies William Hill – Dizzee Rascal and The XX are already joint favourites to win, leading the way with odds of 4/1, whilst BBC reports “The XX are 5/2 favourites to win, according to Ladbrokes.”

“Paul Weller, Corinne Bailey Rae, Mumford and Sons and Laura Marling all follow on 6/1, while Wild Beasts and Biffy Clyro are less fancied on 8/1. Villagers, I Am Kloot and Kit Downes Trio are the outsiders on the initial odds, being quoted at 10/1 to win the prize on September 7.” —NME

This year’s winner will be announced on 7 September. Here’s what last year’s winner Speech Debelle had to say about the award…