Download: Novel’s ‘Legato Blues Summer’ Mixtape

Several of the songs on singer, songwriter, rapper and producer Novel‘s new mixtape, Legato Blues Summer, have already been heard over the past year [such as “Wonderful” featuring Chrisette Michele and “What If” with Tweet] – but it’s nice to hear them in the context of a smooth body of work.

With the majority of the mixtape’s 18 tracks produced by Novel himself, other guest features on Legato Blues Summer include Ako & Amir Taron, Iron Solomon, Jazze Pha, Smokey Robinson, Algebra Blessett [sampling “U Do It 4 Me” on “Switch It Up”- whatever happened to her? lovely voice…] and a soothing appearance from Robin Thicke [on “Ghetto Sing”].

Read on for the full tracklist and download link…

Tracklist & Cover Art [click to enlarge]

1. Legatos Audiobiography
2. Money, Drugs & Women [Proverbs] (ft. Ako & Amir Taron)
3. Exhibit Rap (ft. Iron Solomon)
4. Smokey Robinson (Chapter 1)
5. Dear HipHop (Freestyle) a.k.a. Lauryn Hill (ft. Jazza Pha)
6. TakeOver
7. Start to Fade ‘01 (ft. Smokey Robinson)
8. Smokey Robinson (Chapter 2)
9. Switch It Up (ft. Algebra)
10. So Right!
11. Ghetto Sing (ft. Robin Thicke)
12. Smokey Robinson (Chapter 3)
13. Lose Control
14. Legato Blues Summer
15. Wonderful (ft. Chrisette Michelle)
16. State of Loneliness
17. Velvet Sky
18. What If (ft. Tweet)


[via DJ Booth]

Novel’s official album, Calligraphy, coming soon.