Ruby Hornet Presents: 'Closed Sessions Vol. 2' [Mixtape] | Stream + Free Download

After months of various leaks and promotion, Chicago-based hip-hop blog Ruby Hornet finally present the second volume in their Closed Sessions compilation series today. Closed Sessions Vol. 2 is a collection of recordings from May 2010 through to January 2012 from artists whom they feel "help to shape Hip Hop music and culture in that time period." In which case, congratulations to Raekwon, Blu, Action Bronson, Mr. Muthafuckin' eXquire, Rockie Fresh, Freddie Gibbs, Sir Michael Rocks and many more for all getting the nod.

Without further ado, stream and download Closed Sessions Vol. 2 in its entirety below. Rest assured, there are plenty of gems to be unearthed.

Listen: Ruby Hornet Presents: Closed Sessions Vol. 2


Mr. Muthafuckin' eXquire - "Lost In Transition" | New Music

Fresh off breakin' necks (read: hectic touring) and cashin' checks (read: chasin' checks), Brooklyn-bred, Universal Records-signed emcee Mr. Muthafuckin' eXquire gifts a new joint for us with "Lost In Transition". The grimy, crawling number was recorded with producer Mike Jaxx back in January upon a trip to Chicago.

Although MMF has two EPs in the works, this track will feature on Ruby Hornet and MTV 2 Sucker Free's Closed Sessions Vol. 2 compilation, due out August 30th.

Stream and download "Lost In Transition" below, and look for eXquire's new solo EP, Power & Passion, to arrive on September 3rd.

Listen: Mr. Muthafuckin' eXquire - "Lost In Transition"


[via Ruby Hornet]

CyHi The Prynce - 'Good For Me' | New Music

To coincide with the announcement of its release date, Ruby Hornet and MTV 2 Sucker Free present the latest cut from their Closed Sessions Vol. 2 compilation, out August 30th. Following the contribution heard from Wu Gambino Raekwon, G.O.O.D. Music's CyHi The Prynce lends some guest verses to the album, recorded on a trip to Chicago back when he first signed with Kanye West and announced himself on "So Appalled".

"Good For Me", which was produced by QB and Nascent, can be streamed and downloaded below. Also set to feature on Closed Sessions Vol. 2 are Curren$y, Action Bronson, L.E.P. Bogus Boys, Rockie Fresh and Mr. Muthafuckin' eXquire.

Listen: CyHi The Prynce - 'Good For Me'


[via Ruby Hornet]

Raekwon - 'Keep It Politics' (Prod. DJ Babu) | New Music

After aligning Action Bronson and Thelonious Martin for "Blackbird" last week, Ruby Hornet and MTV2 Sucker Free continue to pull out the (very welcome) surprises for their upcoming Closed Sessions Vol. 2 compilation project. For the latest leak, "Keep It Politics", they lock down legendary Wu Gambino Raekwon, who spits some of the rawest bars in recent memory over a funky, neck-snapping beat courtesy of DJ Babu of Dilated Peoples.Read more