Urban Music Awards 2011: And The Nominees Are…

An award show nominated and voted for by music fans first hosted in 2003, the 9th annual Urban Music Awards (UMAs) will take place this year on September 14 sponsored by Corona Extra [venue TBA].

North London lyricist Wretch 32 stands strong with six nominations across the categories for Artist Of The Year, Best Single, Best Music Video, Best Collaboration [for “Unorthodox”] Best Hip Hop Act and Best Male Artist, followed by Chipmunk with five, whilst Example is up for four awards in addition to the three he shares with Wretch for their aforementioned collaboration.

Devlin, Dappy, Tinie Tempah, Professor Green and Nicki Minaj also get a look in on the emcee front, whereas on the soulful/R&B side of things Beverley Knight, Adele, Emeli Sande, Aloe Blacc, Chris Brown, Kelly Rowland, Trey Songz, Joss Stone, Dionne Bromfield, Ed Sheeran and Maverick Sabre are all in the mix along with Loick Essien and Yasmin, with Jessie J scoring four nominations and Katy B up for Best Female Artist, Artist Of The Year and Best Album for her On A Mission debut.

The UMA’s 2011 will be syndicated for broadcast in over seven countries across Europe, followed by the launch of the UMA 2011 compilation album featuring a mix of talent from Europe. Open to “music fans who have nominated for all the categories,” registered voting is currently live until September 10 at www.urbanmusicawards.net.

See below for the full list of nominees.

Best Collaboration sponsored by Corona Extra
DJ Fresh ft Sian Evans “Louder” (Ministry of Sound)
Dappy ft. Tinchy Stryder “Spaceship” (4th & Broadway & AATW)
Loick Essein ft. Tanya Lacey “How we Roll” (RCA)
Vato Gonzalez ft Foreign Beggars “Badman Riddim” (Levels/Ministry of Sound)
Chipmunk ft. Chris Brown “Champion”
Wretch 32 ft. Example “Unorthodox” (Levels/Ministry of Sound)

Best Male Artist
Example (Data)
Jay Sean
Chipmunk (Sony BMG)
Wretch 32 (Ministry of Sound)
Ed Sheeran (Asylum)

Best Female Artist sponsored by Sleek
Jessie J (Island/Lava)
Katy B (Rinse Recordings)
Adele (XL Recordings)
Alexandra Burke
Beverley Knight
Emili Sandé

International Artists of the Year
Kelly Rowland
Diddy Dirty Money
Chris Brown
Jason Derulo
Aloe Blacc (Epic)
Bruno Mars
Trey Songz
Nicki Minaj

Best Album sponsored by Corona Extra
Beverley Knight “Soul UK” (Hurricane)
Jessie J ‘Who you are’ (Island/Lava)
Katy B “On a Mission” (Rinse Recordings)
Example “Won’t Go Quietly” (Data)
Adele “21” (XL Recordings)
Joss Stone “LP1” (Stone’d/Surfdog)

Best HipHop Act
Wretch 32
Tinie Tempah
Professor Green

Best Single
Jessie J ”Nobody’s Perfect’
Wretch 32 ft. Example ‘Unorthodox’
Chipmunk ft. Chris Brown ‘Champion’
Dappy ft. Tinchy Stryder ‘Spaceship’
Emili Sandé ‘Heaven’
Vato Gonzalez ft. Foreign Beggars ‘Badman Riddim’
Maverick Sabre ‘Let me Go’

Best Music Video
Chipmunk ft. Chris Brown ‘Born a Champion”
Wretch 32 ft. Example “Unorthodox”
Tinie Tempah
JLS ft. Dev ‘You Makes Me Wanna’ (Epic)
Loick Essien ft. Tanya Lacey (RCA)
Toddla T ft. Shola Ama & J2K “Take it Back”
Yasmin ‘Finish Line’ (Data Records)

Artist of the Year
Jessie J
Katy B
Wretch 32
Ed Sheeran

Best Newcomer
Mz. Bratt
Loick Essien
Emili Sandé
Toddla T ft. Shola Ama & J2K “Take it Back”
Dionne Broomfield
Rizzle Kicks
Maverick Sabre

Best DJ 2011
Manny Norte
Tim Westwood

Best Dance Act sponsored by Chelsea Monthly
Calvin Harris ft. Kelis ‘Bounce’
DJ Fresh ft. Sian Evans ‘Louder’
Example ‘Changed the way you Kiss me’ (Data)
Alex Guadino ft. Kelly Rowland (Ministry of Sound)
Martin Solveig & Dragonette ‘Hello’ (3Beat /AATW)
Box Bottom ft. Big Babba ‘Bounce & Boom’ (DJ BB)
Inna ‘Sun is Up’ (3 Beat/AATW)
Dev ‘Bass Down Low’ ft. Cataracs (Island)

Best Radio Station
Capital fm
Rinse fm
Smooth Radio

Best Radio Show
DJ Swerve (Kiss)
Westwood (1Xtra)
Ricky & Melvin (Kiss)
Jenny Francis (Choice)
Sarah Jane Crawford (1Xtra)
Twin B (1Xtra )

Best Producer
Swedish House Mafia
Fraser T Smith
Red One
Michael Woods
Benny Benassi

Best R&B Act
Jay Sean
Taio Cruz
Loick Essien
Emili Sandé

Privacy Preference Center