The soundtrack and cover art for Tyler Perry’s For Colored Girls have been released. Using the same ideals of the film, the soundtrack is a 13-track all-star, all-female affair, with music from acts including Macy Gray, Janelle Monae, Gladys Knight, Zaki Ibrahim, Lala Hathaway and Laura Izibor. The record also includes a remake of Nina Simone’s “Four Women”, with vocals from Nina, her daughter Simone, Laura Izibor and Ledisi.

For Colored Girls will be released stateside on November 5th; as yet there is no UK release date [click here to watch the trailer]. Perry recently addressed audience concerns about the ability to translate Ntozake Shange‘s book/play, For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide When The Rainbow Is Enuf, to the silver screen.

“If you know anything about the book or play, FOR COLORED GIRLS WHO HAVE CONSIDERED SUICIDE WHEN THE RAINBOW IS ENUF, which is what my film is based on, then you know that it is one of the most powerful literary works of this century. But, if you know it, you are also thinking like I was, “How can I make this into a movie?”

“After reading the play a thousand times and listening to these poems a million times, it hit me. There was only one way to approach it. So what I did was, I put these characters in the situations around the poems, so that they could speak the dialogue of the book without it sounding like a poem. And I have to tell you, I wasn’t sure that it could be done. But, after listening to Phylicia Rashad, Thandie Newton, Kerry Washington, Macy Gray, Kimberly Elise, Tessa Thompson, Whoopi Goldberg, Loretta Devine, Anika Noni Rose and Janet Jackson say these words it was awesomely seamless.” –Tyler Perry

Music From and Inspired By The Original Motion Picture ‘For Colored Girls’ will be released on November 2, but you can preview TODAY by streaming over at Atlantic Records.


1. “Main Title” – Loretta Devine, Kimberly Elise, Whoopi Goldberg, Janet Jackson, Thandie Newton, Phylicia Rashad, Anika Noni Rose, Tessa Thompson, Kerry Washington with Joshua Bell, Aaron Zigman & The Hollywood Studio
2. “Longer & Stronger” – Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings
3. “All Day Long (Blue Skies)” – Estelle
4. “What More Can They Do” – Laura Izibor
5. “Sun” – Lalah Hathaway
6. “Ansomnia” – Zaki Ibrahim
7. “Settle” – Gladys Knight
8. “La Donna In Viola” – Karen Slack, Andrea Jones-Sojola & The Hollywood Studio Symphony Orchestra
9. “Sechita (A Senhora em Amarelo)” – Anika Noni Rose & Carondelet Percussion Ensemble
10. “Stand Up” – Macy Gray
11. “Without A Fight” – Janelle Monàe
12. “Four Women” – Nina Simone, Simone, Laura Izibor & Ledisi
13. “I Know Who I Am” – Leona Lewis

[Sources: ShadowAndAct x TBF x CNN]