Nikki Jean’s debut album Pennies In a Jar set for July 12 release | Album Tracklist

Former Nouveau Riche singer Nikki Jean, who shot back into the limelight with her 2008 collaboration with Lupe Fiasco on “Hip Hop Saved My Life” [off Lupe Fiasco’s The Cool], is gearing up to release her debut solo album, Pennies In a Jar.

The gorgeous Minnesota bred songwriter started writing and recording for her album after touring with Kanye West, Lupe Fiasco, Rihanna and N.E.R.D. for over four months as part of the 2009 Glow in the Dark Tour.

Set for a July 12 release, her Sony/Columbia distributed album will feature 12 tracks, all of which were co-written by Jean as well as songs co-written by three of music’s greatest living songwriters Carole King (“Rockaway”), Bob Dylan (“Steel & Feathers”) and Burt Bacharach, who co-wrote the title song.

With close ties to The Legendary Roots Crew through former Nouveau Riche frontman and Roots Crew affiliate Dice Raw, the project will also feature a guest verse from Black Thought as well as Lupe Fiasco, who both feature on the song “Million Star Motel”.

Nikki Jean’s Pennies In a Jar Tracklist:

1. How To Unring a Bell (written by Thom Bell & Nikki Jean)
2. Steel & Feathers (Don’t Ever) (written by Bob Dylan and Nikki Jean)
3. La Di Da Di Da (written by Luigi Creatore & Nikki Jean)
4. My Love (written by Lamont Dozier & Nikki Jean)
5. Pennies In a Jar (written by Burt Bacharach & Nikki Jean)
6. What’s a Girl Supposed to Do? (written by Jeff Barry & Nikki Jean)
7. Rockaway (written by Carole King & Nikki Jean)
8. Million Star Motel (ft. Lupe Fiasco x Black Thought) (written by Bobby Braddock & Nikki Jean)
9. Patty Crash (written by Paul Williams & Nikki Jean)
10. China (written by Jimmy Webb & Nikki Jean)
11. Mercy Of Love (written by Barry Mann, Cynthia Weil and Nikki Jean)
12. Sex, Lies & Sunshine (written by Carly Simon & Nikki Jean)

[via Sean The Robot]