Kelis – Food | Album Stream

Harlem born songstress turned Cordon Bleu trained chef Kelis serves up her sixth album, Food, 15 years on from her Kaleidoscope debut.

Produced entirely by TV On The Radio‘s Dave Sitek, Food delivers the twice Grammy nominated singer’s signature husky vocals served atop a mix of fresh live instrumentation, a subtle sprinkle of contemporary electronic sensibilities and a generous, hearty heap of classic soul with funk and gospel undertones.

Food is released on April 21st through UK label Ninja Tune and features the lead singles “Jerk Ribs” and “Rumble,” offering a welcome turn in direction as Kelis embraces a smoother, reflective groove four years on from her last album, the dance and electro oriented Flesh Tone. In fact, this might just be the album we’ve been hoping for her whole career. Dig in and see for yourself.

Pre-order Food via iTunes and stream the whole album at NPR.

Kelis 'Food' album cover

Food Tracklist:

01. Breakfast
02. Jerk Ribs
03. Forever Be
04. Floyd
05. Runnin’
06. Hooch
07. Cobbler
08. Bless the Telephone
09. Friday Fish Fry
10. Change
11. Rumble
12. Biscuits n’ Gravy
13. Dreamer