Diplo & Friends to premiere on BBC Radio 1


Renowned DJ, songwriter and producer Diplo can now add “radio personality” to list of titles, as BBC Radio 1 and 1Xtra have officially added his “Diplo & Friends” radio program to their Saturday night lineup.

Premiering this Saturday night (April 7), “Diplo & Friends” will be co-piloted by fellow DJs Lunice and Paul Devro and “will be bringing you exclusive mixes from Diplo, the Mad Decent stable of artists, and a selection of big name pals and cutting edge new artists,” according to the Mad Decent website.

Born in Tupelo, Mississippi, Diplo gained renown as a DJ and producer for acts including M.I.A., Beyonce and Usher. He also runs a club and music collective called Hooked on Hollerphonix and is the founder of record label Mad Decent, home to acts like Savage Skulls and Oliver Twizt.

“Diplo & Friends” will air Saturday nights from 1 – 3am GMT (8 – 10pm EST and 5 – 7 pm PST) on BBC Radio 1 and 1Xtra.