Alicia Keys, Usher and Drake Lead Soul Train Awards 2010 Nominees List

The nominees have been announced for this year’s annual Soul Train Awards, taking place at the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre in Atlanta on November 10th with Oscar-nominated actors Terrence Howard and Taraji P. Henson as hosts. I’m not sure yet whether we’ll actually be able to watch the awards over in the UK, but the show premieres on both CENTRIC and BET on Sunday, November 28 at 9PM (ET/PT).

The Soul Train Awards will mark an award show comeback for R. Kelly, who will open the show. There will also be performances from Ne-Yo, Cee-lo Green, Keyshia Cole, Rick Ross, Erykah Badu, Eric Benét, Chrisette Michele, Lalah Hathaway, Faith Evans, Janelle Monáe, Gyptian, Freddie Jackson, Jeffrey Osborne, Tamia, and Tank.

The show will also feature never-before seen collaborations to honour the best in Soul Train and this year’s Legend Award recipients Anita Baker and Ron Isley.

New mother Alicia Keys and Usher lead the nominations pack with four each. Drake follows with three nods and Monica, Ne-Yo, B.o.B., Nicki Minaj, Dondria, Erykah Badu, Fantasia, Janelle Monáe and Sade are each up for two awards.

Standing out on the independent soul scene, Jesse Boykins III also snapped up a nomination in the “Centric Award” category alongside Corinne Bailey Rae, Dwele, Dondria and Janelle Monae… A great look and a tough call!

As the show unfolds next month we’ll keep you posted with videos, photos and more information. In the meantime, here’s the full line-up of nominees:

Best New Artist:
Melanie Fiona
Nicki Minaj

Best R&B/Soul Artist – Female:
Alicia Keys
Erykah Badu
Fantasia Barrino
Mary J. Blige

Song of the Year:
“Everything to Me” – Monica
“There Goes My Baby” – Usher
“Un-Thinkable (I’m Ready)” – Alicia Keys
“Soldier of Love” – Sade
“Nothin’ on You” – B.o.B ft. Bruno Mars

Best Hip-Hop Song of the Year:
“Love the Way You Lie” – Eminem ft. Rihanna
“B.M.F. (Blowin Money Fast)” – Rick Ross ft. Styles P
“Your Love” – Nicki Minaj
“Find Your Love” – Drake
“Shutterbugg” – Big Boi ft. Cutty
“I Got Your Back” – T.I. ft. Keri Hilson

Best R&B/Soul Artist – Male:
Trey Songz

Album of the Year:
Alicia Keys – “The Element Of Freedom”
Usher – “Raymond vs. Raymond”
Sade – “Soldier of Love”
Drake – “Thank Me Later”
Erykah Badu – “New Amerykah Part Two (Return of the Ankh)”

Best Reggae Artist:
Damian Marley
Mr. Vegas
Jah Cure
Vybz Kartel
Gramps Morgan

Centric Award:
Jesse Boykins III
Corinne Bailey Rae
Janelle Monae

Best Gospel Performance – Male, Female or Group:
Youthful Praise ft. J.J. Harrison
Fred Hammond
Marvin Sapp
Lisa Page Brooks
Hezekiah Walker & LFC
Tye Tribbett

Record of the Year:
Fantasia Barrino – “Bittersweet” (Songwriters: Charles Harmon, Claude Kelly, Michael Mentore)
El Debarge – “Second Chance” (songwriters: El Debarge & Mischke)
Drake – “Find Your Love” (songwriters: Jeff Bhasker, Aubrey Graham, Patrick Reynolds, Kanye West)
R. Kelly – “When a Woman Loves” (songwriter R. Kelly)
Alicia Keys – “Un-Thinkable (I’m Ready)” (songwriters: Alicia Keys, Aubrey Graham, Brothers, Noah “40” Shebib)

Best Gospel Performance:
Youthful Praise feat. J.J. Harrison
Fred Hammond
Marvin Sapp
Lisa Page Brooks
Hezekiah Walker & LFC
Tye Tribbett

Legends Awards:
Anita Baker
Ron Isley

Privacy Preference Center