Adele, Ed Sheeran, PJ Harvey win big at 57th Ivor Novello Awards | Music News

Last night the 57th Ivor Novello Awards took place in central London. The ceremony that honours British Music by commending the best songwriters and composers has seen the likes of Plan B, Jamiriquai and the late Amy Winehouse among its accolade recipients over the years.

With nominees including Florence + The Machine and longtime UK boy band Take That, leading the winners list this year was British songstress Adele, who went home with two honours and was presented with the gong for Best Songwriter by Grammy winning legend Annie Lennox on the night.

Adele also took the top spot for the PRS for Music Most Performed Work category for the lead single ‘Rolling In The Deep’ – taken from her sophomore album 21. The single beat Take That’s ‘The Flood’ and another of her own singles, ‘Someone Like You,’ to the title.

Other winners on the night included indie rock artist and last year’s Mercury Prize award winner PJ Harvey, who beat Kate Bush‘s 50 Words For Snow and Adele‘s 21 to the Album Award for her eighth studio album Let England Shake.

Ed Sheeran saw his first award for his number one single ‘A Team’ which took home the title for Best Song Musically and Lyrically, with singer Lana Del Rey winning the award for Best Contemporary Song with her single ‘Video Games.’

The Ivor Inspirational Award was given to Siouxie Sioux – lead singer of legendary rock band Siouxsie and the Banshees. Previous winners of this award include Dizzee Rascal, Edwyn Collins, Jazzie B and Johnny Marr.

British boy band Take That took home the award for Outstanding Contribution to British Music, presented to them by Radio 1’s Chris Moyles with Spandau Ballet‘s Gary Kemp gaining a nod for Best Song Collection. Added to the award list was the first ever Ivor Jazz Award which went to British Jazz pianist and composer Stan Tracey.