the latest

BAFTA Awards 2013: The Winners

February 11th, 2013 | by Seán J. Grannum
BAFTA Awards 2013: The Winners


The EE British Academy Film Awards took place last night, and Argo continued it’s string of award successes picking up three awards, including best film and best director for Ben Affleck.

Best Actor went to Daniel Day-Lewis for his portrayal of the iconic US president in the eponymous film Lincoln, while best actress went to Emmanuelle Riva for Amour, and the Rising Star Award, the only one voted for by the public, went to Juno Temple, known for her roles in St. Trinian’s, Killer Joe, and The Dark Knight Rises.

James Bond’s latest outing Skyfall picked up outstanding British film, beating Anna Karenina, Les Miserables, Seven Psychopaths and The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel to win.

Speaking backstage, director Sam Mendes said that the lack of an award nomination for Daniel Craig was down to “the curse of Bond”. “It was an incredible performance but because Bond is the spine of the movie… you take it for granted” he added.

Christoph Waltz won best supporting actor for his role in Quentin Tarentino’s Django Unchained, and best supporting actress went to Anne Hathaway for Les Miserables.

Check out the full list of winners below.

Best Film
Les Misérables
Life of Pi
Zero Dark Thirty

Outstanding British Film
Anna Karenina
The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel
Les Miserables
Seven Psychopaths

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer
Bart Layton (director), Dimitri Doganis (producer) – The Imposter 
David Morris (director), Jacqui Morris (director/producer) - McCullin
Dexter Fletcher (director/writer), Danny King (writer) – Wild Bill
James Bobin (director) – The Muppets
Tina Gharavi (director/writer) - I Am Nasrine

Film Not in the English Language
The Hunt
Rust and Bone

The Imposter
Searching for Sugarman
West of Memphis

Animated Film

Michael Haneke – Amour
Ben Affleck – Argo
Quentin Tarantino – Django Unchained
Ang Lee – Life of Pi
Kathryn Bigelow – Zero Dark Thirty

Original Screenplay
Django Unchained
The Master
Moonrise Kingdom
Zero Dark Thirty

Adapted Screenplay
Beasts of the Southern Wild
Life of Pi
Silver Linings Playbook 

Leading Actor
Ben Affleck – Argo
Bradley Cooper – Silver Linings Playbook
Daniel Day Lewis – Lincoln 
Hugh Jackman - Les Misérables
Joaquin Phoenix – The Master

Leading Actress
Jessica Chastain – Zero Dark Thirty
Marion Cotillard – Rust and Bone
Jennifer Lawrence – Silver Linings Playbook
Helen Mirren – Hitchcock
Emmanuel Riva – Amour

Supporting Actor
Alan Arkin – Argo
Javier Bardem – Skyfall
Philip Seymour Hoffman – The Master
Tommy Lee Jones – Lincoln
Christoph Waltz – Django Unchained

Supporting Actress
Amy Adams – The Master
Judi Dench - Skyfall
Sally Field – Lincoln
Anne Hathaway – Les Misérables 
Helen Hunt – The Sessions

Original Music
Dario Marianelli - Anna Karenina
Alexandre Desplat – Argo
Mychael Danna – Life of Pi
John Williams – Lincoln
Thomas Newman - Skyfall 

Seamus McGarvey – Anna Karenina
Danny Cohen – Les Misérables
Claudio Miranda – Life of Pi 
Janusz Kaminski – Lincoln
Roger Deakins – Skyfall

William Goldenberg – Argo 
Fred Raskin – Django Unchained
Tim Squyres – Life of Pi
Stuart Baird – Skyfall
Dylan Tichenor, William Goldenberg – Zero Dark Thirty

Production Design
Sarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer – Anna Karenina
Eve Stewart, Anna Lynch-Robinson – Les Misérables
David Gropman, Anna Pinnock – Life of Pi
Rick Carter, Jim Erickson – Lincoln
Dennis Gassner, Anna Pinnock – Skyfall

Costume Design
Jacqueline Durran - Anna Karenina
Beatrix Aruna Pasztor – Great Expectations
Paco Delgado – Les Misérables
Joanna Johnston – Lincoln
Colleen Atwood – Snow White and the Huntsman

Make Up & Hair
Ivana Primorac – Anna Karenina
Julie Hewett, Martin Samuel, Howard Berger - Hitchcock
Peter Swords King, Richard Taylor, Rick Findlater – The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey
Lisa Westcott – Les Misérables 
Lois Burwell, Kay Georgiou – Lincoln

Mark Ulano, Michael Minkler, Tony Lamberti, Wylie Stateman – Django Unchained
Tony Johnson, Christopher Boyes, Michael Hedges, Michael Semanick, Brent Burge, Chris Ward – The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey
Simon Hayes, Andy Nelson, Mark Paterson, Jonathan Allen, Lee Walpole, John Warhurst – Les Misérables 
Drew Kunin, Eugene Gearty, Philip Stockton, Ron Bartlett, D. M. Hemphill – Life of Pi
Stuart Wilson, Scott Millan, Greg P. Russell, Per Hallberg, Karen Baker Landers - Skyfall

Special Visual Effects
Paul Franklin, Chris Corbould, Peter Bebb, Andrew Lockley – The Dark Knight Rises
Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton, R. Christopher White – The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey
Bill Westenhofer, Guillaume Rocheron, Erik-Jan De Boer - Life of Pi 
Nominees TBC - The Avengers
Richard Stammers, Charley Henley, Trevor Wood, Paul Butterworth - Prometheus

Short Animation
Here to Fall
I’m Fine, Thanks
The Making of Longbird

Short Film
The Curse
Good Night
The Voorman Problem

EE Rising Star Award
Elizabeth Olsen
Juno Temple 
Suraj Sharma
Andrea Riseborough
Alicia Vikander